‘Murica Cake – July 2014

Tim's Retirement Cake

So this past Saturday, I had this cake planned out for an annual family get together! Technically it was celebrating my brother’s retirement from the military. He has kicked ass and taken names is what he does, and I’m proud to say he’s my brother. The reaction I got from the cake was amazing, everyone was just in awe and it really just made me smile. There’s nothing better than seeing the reaction to a cake or anything really that you put your everything into! 

image (1)The eagle head itself was my biggest source of accomplishment. With a lot of my cakes I try to do something that I haven’t done on other cakes, some I do repeat techniques. But, if I get the chance to really step out of my comfort zone I will. The Eagle head is made completely out of homemade rice krispie treats, and then covered in satin ice fondant. I made him a couple days in advance to give any room any any possible issues (ex.beak falls off) This is the biggest “Sculpture” I’ve tackled so far, and I was very happy with how he turned out! A few of the feather tips did break in transport but overall he made it just fine!

image (2)The cake itself is a 3 later homemade chocolate cake, with chocolate fudge frosting. I made a maraschino cherry filling for the layers and it turned out delicious!I got the filling recipe from here >>http://www.barbarabakes.com/2011/01/old-fashioned-chocolate-cake-with-maraschino-cherry-filling/ 

imageEveryone said they loved the cake from the taste to the decoration of it all! I was so happy with how this turned out and I got this crazy thought in my that that “maybe I know what I’m doing after all” 😀 I hope you all who check in on my blog will find my journey interesting at least, being self taught is an exciting, and sometimes nerve wrecking journey. But I’m loving every minute of it! 

3pywey

 

Photo Cred: Patrick Burke Photography

One thought on “‘Murica Cake – July 2014

Leave a Reply

