Turkey Cake for Thanksgiving – 2013

ImageImageImage

So for Thanksgiving this year I decided to bake and decorate a turkey cake for a family get together! Inspired by Buddy Valastro’s turkey cake, I thought I would give it a try. I’m not going to lie, it did not start off too well, I ran into some obstacles, but despite those, I worked around them and gave it my best shot. I am pretty pleased with how the cake turned out considering this was my first turkey cake. This was a homemade, from scratch, red velvet cake with chocolate fudge icing as a filling. I used decorator’s buttercream to dirty ice it as well as for the “feathers” and the neck/head of the turkey. I started the process at around 8:30-9pm after I got off of work, and I had finished it by 2:30-3am. That includes, creating the mix, baking time, cooling time, and decorating time. The family loved it, and the kids got a kick out of it, one of the little girls even called dibs on the  entire neck/head! Needless to say she was on a pretty good sugar buzz after that. 

Remember that even though today was a day for giving thanks, you should always take some time out in the “average” day to do the same. Hoping everyone had a great Thanksgiving, and ate until your heart’s content!

 

Photo Cred: Patrick Burke Photography 

Leave a Reply

